Dizzy Gillespie Sonny Stitt Sonny Rollins Sonny Side Up (jazz)(mp...

  • Category Music
  • Type MP3
  • Language English
  • Total size 87.4 MB
  • Uploaded By rogercc
  • Downloads 421
  • Last checked 8 months ago
  • Date uploaded 7 years ago
  • Seeders 4
  • Leechers 1

Infohash : 3845688FB7672ADF5713114C3151C76256E256DD

Released: 1958
Recorded: December 19, 1957 at Nola Recording Studio, New York City
Label: Verve
Format: [email protected]

Dizzy Gillespie brings together tenor saxophonists Sonny Stitt and Sonny Rollins for four extended cuts, and in the process comes up with one of the most exciting "jam session" records in the jazz catalog. While the rhythm section of pianist Ray Bryant, bassist Tommy Bryant, and drummer Charlie Persip provides solid rhythmic support, Stitt and Rollins get down to business trading fours and reeling off solo fireworks. Apparently, Gillespie had stoked the competitive fires before the session with phone calls and some gossip, the fallout of which becomes palpable as the album progresses. On "The Eternal Triangle," in particular, Stitt and Rollins impress in their roles as tenor titans, with Stitt going in for sheer muscle as that most stout of bebop cutters and Rollins opting for some pacing as a more thematic player. In the midst of the rivalry (certainly some torch was being passed, since Rollins was soon to become the top tenor saxophonist in jazz), an embarrassment of solo riches comes tumbling out of both these men's horns. Gillespie adds his own split commentary on the proceedings with a casual solo on "After Hours" and a competitively blistering statement on "I Know That You Know." With an at ease rendition of "On the Sunny Side of the Street" rounding things out, Sonny Side Up comes off as both a highly enjoyable jazz set and something of an approximation of the music's once-revered live cutting session.

1."On the Sunny Side of the Street" - 5:43
2."The Eternal Triangle" - 14:10
3."After Hours" - 12:21
4."I Know That You Know" - 5:28

•Dizzy Gillespie - trumpet, vocal (track 1)
•Sonny Stitt - tenor saxophone
•Sonny Rollins - tenor saxophone
•Ray Bryant - piano
•Tommy Bryant - double bass
•Charlie Persip – drums


  • 01 - On the Sunny Side of the Street.mp3 (13.2 MB)
  • 02 - The Eternal Triangle.mp3 (32.6 MB)
  • 03 - After Hours.mp3 (28.3 MB)
  • 04 - I Know That You Know.mp3 (13.2 MB)
  • front.jpg (42.9 KB)

There are currently no comments. Feel free to leave one :)


  • http://fr33dom.h33t.com:3310/announce
  • http://tracker.publicbt.com:80/announce
  • udp://tracker.1337x.org:80/announce
SitemapGhalbam Tu Diare Ghorbat 85 | Big Valley | Sansão Torrent (2018) Dual Áudio / Dublado BluRay 720p | 1080p – Download